You are here: Home > Our Charity > Latest News > Full List of Awards

The BHS Awards | Full List of Awards

22 Nov 2019


The BHS 2019 Annual Awards were held at Saddlers’ Hall on Friday 22 November. These awards recognise the achievements an individual, group or organisation has made across the Society. This could be securing new equestrian access, improving equestrian welfare or campaigning for Equestrian Safety.

We are truly grateful for the valuable contribution made by these individuals and organisations and this is our way to ensure that they receive the appreciation and recognition they deserve. Our heartfelt thanks and congratulations go to this year’s winners.

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer you can find out more information here.

Please see below for a full list of awards and 2019 award winners.

Lifetime Awards

President's Award

The pinnacle of these awards is our President’s Award, which recognises exceptional service. This rewards those individuals who go over and above all expectations for the BHS, our members and horses.

Awarded to:

Claire Aldridge

Award of Merit

Presented to up to six  individuals for consistently excellent service to the Society over a period of years.

Awarded to:

Dr Phil Wadey
Janice Bridger
Penny Dodd, Durham
Ruth Dodd, Derbyshire Chairman

The Bodynfoel Award  

Presented to an individual or group for excellent service in promoting the work of the Society.

Awarded to:

Morag Cartney, Ayrshire

Helen Barton Smith Silver Stirrup Award 

Presented to an individual for meritorious work in support of young riders.

Awarded to:

Ms Pat Bishop, Manor Farm, Somerset

Society Awards

Equine Personality of the Year Award

For the horse or pony that does the most for people.

Awarded to:

Dotty (Posthumous)

Volunteer of the Year Award 2019

For the volunteer who has made a positive impact on their fellow volunteer and/or a significant achievement for the Society.

Awarded to:

Ms Jane McDowall, BHS Dumfries & Galloway

Young Persons Award 2019

For a person under 25 years who shows outstanding potential and achievement.

Awarded to:

Ms Robyn Smith

The Pamela Almond Changing Lives through Horses Achieve Award

For a participant in the CLTH programme who has shown exceptional growth and commitment to their personal development.

Awarded to:

Miss Lily Arnold

Access Awards

Access Award 

For excellent service by an individual, a volunteer (team) or Equestrian Access Group in furtherance of enhanced equestrian access including carriage driving.

Awarded to:

Mrs Sylvia Briggs, Durham 2026 Research Group

Access Award (Organisation)

For excellent service by an organisation, business or professional person in furtherance of enhanced equestrian access.

Awarded to:

Hampshire Countryside Access Forum

Safety Awards

Safety Award

For excellent service by a person, persons, or group in the cause of road safety in their community.

Awarded to:

​Richard McKenzie, Northumberland Council

Tarquin Trophy 

For excellent service by an organisation, business or business associate in the cause of equestrian safety.

Awarded to:

Constable in Road Policing Unit, Scotland and Mounted Unit

Welfare Awards

Welfare Award

For consistently excellent service by an individual, volunteer (team) or group in the cause of equine welfare.

Awarded to:

Margaret Paterson

Welfare Award (Organisation)

For consistently excellent service by an organisation, business or professional person in the cause of equine welfare.

Awarded to:


Education Awards

Accredited Professional Coach Award - Approved Centre

For a coach who has made the greatest difference to their students and the field of equestrian training within an Approved Centre.

Awarded to:

Ben Mitchell-Winter, Littebourne Equestrian

Accredited Professional Coach Award – Freelance

For a freelance coach who has made the greatest difference to their students and the field of equestrian training.

Awarded to:

Carly Moore

Changing Lives Through Horses Coach Award

For a Coach in the CLTH programme who has shown exceptional dedication to their participant’s personal growth and development.

Awarded to:

Mrs Tracy Steel, Tyne & Wear RDA


Approved Centre 

For the centre that has made the greatest difference to their community.

Awarded to:

RDA Sandyflat, Glasgow

Exceptional Awards (Not presented every year)

The Lady Elizabeth Kirk Award 

This award celebrates individuals, businesses or organisations who have voluntarily dedicated a bridleway.

Awarded to:

Michael Tucker (Posthumous)

Chairman's Commendation 

For exceptional work by a BHS Committee, British Riding Club or Equestrian Access Group.

Awarded to:

Hallam Riders

The Elwyn Hartley-Edwards Award 

For a writer, broadcaster or publication whose work has been particularly beneficial to promoting the enjoyment of equestrianism and raising awareness of BHS campaigns and wider issues within the equine industry.

Awarded to:

John Craven OBE

Exceptional Achievement Award

For a notable triumph against the odds showing determination, courage and sportsmanship.

Awarded to:

Clarissa Dawson (Posthumous), BHS Assessor

Fundraising Award

For a superlative effort in raising funds for the Society or in recognition of an innovative fundraising method e.g. this may be a new idea that can be successfully repeated year after year.

Awarded to:

BHS Orkney

BRC Awards

BRC Club of the Year Award

Awarded to:

Saffron & District RC

BRC Volunteer of the Year

Awarded to:

Kay Bradley

Leo Harris Award

Awarded to:

Steve Johnson

BRC NAF Partnership Award

Awarded to:

Penny Jann





Please wait while we complete your membership

Processing your details...