You are here: Home > Professionals > Become BHS Approved > Approved Centres

Approved Centres

One of our key aims is to help equestrian businesses thrive.

Helping professionals to be the best

The best way to ensure this is to help professionals throughout the industry to be the best and achieve the highest standards of excellence.

That’s why we provide an approvals accreditation system for all training, riding, trekking and sporting centres. There are currently more than 800 BHS Approved Centres in the UK, Ireland and worldwide.

Interested in finding out the inspection process of becoming an Approved Centre? Find out here.

What does BHS Approved mean?

BHS Approved means that all centres are regularly inspected to ensure they meet high standards of safety, horse welfare and tuition. We use three levels of grading: Approved (A), Commended (C) and Highly Commended (HC). Training centres undergo an additional, more rigorous inspection to make sure that all Instructors and training is of the highest calibre.

For added peace of mind, it also means that every centre is insured for public liability and complies with the latest health and safety legislation.

So if you want to be the best, BHS Approved Centres will ensure you pass the test.

This way we can be sure that everyone will be inspired to enjoy the best equestrian experience.

Contact us to find out how to go about becoming approved by emailing

See our current list of BHS Approved Centres.


Clubmark is an accreditation scheme from Sport England, which covers a variety of different sports and is specifically designed for clubs with junior sections. The BHS delivers the Clubmark scheme in partnership with the British Equestrian Federation (BEF) and the scheme is available to all clubs and centres who are accredited or approved by a British Equestrian Federation Member Body.

Please wait while we complete your membership

Processing your details...