You are here: Home > Our Charity > News & Media > BRC bursts with talent from Wiltshire

BRC bursts with talent from Wiltshire

6 Aug 2012

Olympic fever spurred competitors on to some terrific scores for the fourth and final time that the BRC Horse Trials Championships will be held at Aston-le-Walls. The event was once again sponsored by South Essex Insurance Brokers.
The action kicked off with the senior intermediate and open competitors presenting their horses for the initial vet inspection before going forward to the dressage phase. The juniors were also in action as their classes ran as a one-day event. Junior Novice team champions were Rother Valley RC from East Sussex with their team of Eleanor Simes (Smartie), Laura Craner (Misty Miss), Claudine Wallace (Brushmarks) and Iola Hughes (Inca).
Overall individual champion was Abigail Lee from Hargrave, Cheshire, riding Tulsk Lad who arrived at the championships without the support of a team, having qualified as an individual for Delamere Forest RC.
The Junior Intermediate victors hailed from Evenlode RC with a team made up of Florence Woods and Charlotte Campion from Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire and Ella Leck and Laura Smith from Moreton In Marsh, Gloucestershire. They rode Spanish Clio, Twiglet, It and a Bit and Dick Taytoe respectively.
Emma Mealing and Trefedw Evan from Redmarley, Gloucestershire claimed individual honours, representing Malvern Hills RC, finishing on a very low score of 30.
Sunday saw the conclusion of the senior classes. The Intermediate section winners were riding for Bourne Valley RC and the team featured a wealth of experience with the majority of horses falling into the veteran category. Team members were Marion Watt from Ringwood, Hampshire riding Old Speckled Hen II, Michelle Bowe from Marlborough, Wiltshire on Fruitful Cruise, Laura Young from Salisbury, Wiltshire on Slieve Bloom and Diana Burgess from Andover, Hampshire on U. Diana also scooped the Overall Individual title.
The Novice class went to the Isle of Wight RC who were keen to dedicate the award to their chairman, Sue Lightbown, who passed away earlier this year. Team member Lorie Sims and her ride, The Optimist also took home the Overall Individual award. The other members of the team were Karen Begley (My Mission Impossible), Kirsty Hume (Stormin-Norm) and Alison Rann (The French Connection).
The final presentation of the day was for the Senior Open. Area 18 fielded a dream team of Bonnie Fishburn from Ludlow, Shropshire on Sanfransisco II, Vicki Hancox from Worcester, Worcestershire on Noble Artist, Ellie Tuck from Winchcombe, Gloucestershire on Lunar Magic and Beth Evans from Droitwich, Worcestershire on Captain Pilot. Bonnie and Vicki both won their respective arenas with Bonnie claiming the Overall Individual prize.

Please wait while we complete your membership

Processing your details...