You are here: Home > Our Charity > News & Media > Eight East Midlands BHS Award Winners

Eight East Midlands BHS Award Winners

2 Nov 2012


East Midlands Award Winners

We are very proud to have an impressive total of eight volunteers and members from the East Midlands who travelled to Saddlers Hall in London to be presented with awards by our president, Martin Clunes at the recent BHS Annual Awards Ceremony on 2 November.  This really highlights the sterling work being done on behalf of the BHS in the region by so many dedicated individuals.

Former Trustee James Buxton from Leicestershire received the President’s Award for truly outstanding service over a period of years.  Liz Harding from Lincoln who until recently has been the BHS East Midlands Regional Chairman, and Vicky Allen from Leicestershire both received Awards of Merit for excellent service. 

An Access Award for a public agency which has done the most for equestrian access was received by Andrew Savage on behalf of Lincolnshire County Council Public Rights of Way and Countryside Access Department for the creation of the Lindsey Trail 69 mile multi-user route, which was opened on the 16 June. Sheila Brooks from Lincolnshire also received an Access award for the best Carriage Driving facility for her unceasing work and enthusiasm towards the instigation and development of the Lindsey Trail. 

Mandy Middleton

Mandy Middleton from Derbyshire, whose son Hayden was tragically killed in December 2011 in a motor cycle accident, has tirelessly shown her commitment to equine welfare and Hayden’s memory by raising funds for BHS Welfare in her son’s name and was presented with a Fundraising Award.  The BHS was thrilled and honoured to receive a cheque from Mandy for nearly £1,000 and this money will make an enormous difference to the lives of many horses and the work that it will enable the BHS to accomplish is a fitting and lasting tribute to her son, Hayden. 

25 year Long Service awards were presented to Paula Leverton, former Chairman and BHS South Lincolnshire Committee member; and Barbara Housley, BHS Derbyshire Committee member.

Please wait while we complete your membership

Processing your details...