You are here: Home > Our Charity > News & Media > Martin Clunes presents BHS awards

Martin Clunes presents BHS awards

18 Nov 2011

Martin Clunes, President of The British Horse Society, today (Friday, 18 November 2011) presented awards to individuals and organisations who have given outstanding service to the cause of equestrianism and equine welfare at an awards ceremony at Saddlers' Hall in the City of London.

The prestigious BHS awards highlighted the amazing work that goes on, much of it behind the scenes, on behalf of Britain's horses and riders.


BHS Chairman, Dr Phil Wadey, said: “We are fortunate to have so many dedicated volunteers within the Society, and an uncountable number of individuals and organisations beyond the BHS, who work so hard for the good of all equestrians.  Most of their work goes unremarked, although certainly not unnoticed, year after year. But it is good, every so often, to celebrate publicly the achievements of a small but representative sample whose efforts have unquestionably earned for them their moment of glory in the spotlight.”

The 2011 Award winners are:

Gillian Longhurst, Award of Merit
Kathy Atkinson, Access Award
Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority, Access Award
Derbyshire County Council, Access Award
The BHS Isle of Man committee, Chairman’s Commendation
The BHS Borders committee, Chairman’s Commendation
Andrew Hobson, Barry Mottram, Colin and Linda Davies, Lady Elizabeth Kirk Award
Melanie Reid, Exceptional Achievement Award
Jann Crosland, Leo Harris Award
Patrick Print OBE FBHS, President’s Award
The New Forest Pony Enthusiast RC, Affiliated Riding Club of the Year
Carol Jones BHSAI, HS Silver Stirrup
PC Keith Evans, Sefton Award
Sgt Alison Humphrey, Tarquin Trophy
Mary MacFarlane, Trainer’s Award
Jenny MacGregor [and Alasdair MacGregor (posthumous)], Welfare Award
Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Services Specialist Animal Rescue Team, Welfare Award

BHS TREC League Awards
Sue Lee, Novice Individual Winner
Denise and Nigel Robinson, Novice Pairs Winners
Hilary Barnard, Open Individual Winner
Clare Reynolds and Joy Taylor, Open Pairs Winners
Joy Taylor, Unsung Hero Award
Dave and Sheila Rogerson, Sportsmanship Award
Eleanor Barnard, Heather Lucas Award

Long Service Award, 25 Years
Catriona Cook, Moira Ingleton

Long Service Award, 30 Years
Lindsay Cook, Jane Hemingway

Long Service Award, 35 Years
Juliet Worsley

Long Service Award, 40 Years
Janet Irving, Brenda King

Prince Michael International Road Safety Award
Presented to The British Horse Society by Tony Spalding, Chairman of Roadsafe


Please wait while we complete your membership

Processing your details...